राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान मिजोरम NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY MIZORAM (An Institute of National Importance under Ministry of HRD, Govt. of India) CHALTLANG, AIZAWL, MIZORAM – 796012

MINUTES OF THE 6THSENATE MEETING HELD ON 22ND JUNE, 2018

Members present:

Sl. No	Name and Designation				
1	Prof. Rajat Gupta , Director NIT Mizoram	Ex-Officio Chairmar			
2	Prof. A.T Khan, Deptt of Chemistry, IIT Guwahati	Member			
3	Prof. L. Lolit Singh, Deptt of ECE, MZU	Special Invitee			
4	Dr. Alok Shukla, FI/C (Acad.) & AP (Phy) NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee			
5	Dr. P. Ajmal Koya, HOD (BS&HSS) & AP (Chem), NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee			
6	Dr. K. G. Singh, F I/C (Exam.) & Asst. Prof. (HSS) NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee			
7	Dr. Bidesh Roy i/c HOD (CE) & AP (ME), NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee			
8	Dr. Partha Pakray, HOD & Asst.Prof. (CSE), NIT Mizoram	Member Invitee			
9	Dr. Pabitra Kumar. Biswas , HOD & Asst. Prof. (EEE)	Member Invitee			
10	Dr. Rudra Sankar Dhar, HOD & Asst.Prof (ECE)	Member Invitee			
11	Dr. Bachu Deb, HOD & Asst.Prof (ME)	Member Invitee			

Leave of absence is granted to Prof. Sukumar Nandi and Prof. Sudeshna Purkayastha, members of the Senate.

The Chairman welcomed all the members and briefed them the development and the activities of the Institute. Senate acknowledges the contribution of former Senate members at large extent.

Minutes of the 6th Senate meeting

Ashoward

fortu

Page 1

AGENDA NO.	AGENDA AND DECISION OF THE SENATE
SNT 6.1	Welcome address by the Chairman
SNT 6.2	Confirmation of the minutes of 5 th Senate meeting
	This is to place before the Senate the proposal for confirmation of the minutes of the 5 th meeting of Senate held on 26 th May 2018 at NIT Mizoram, Aizawl. No comments received. Copy of the meeting minutes is placed at Annexure-I of SNT 6.2.
	The Senate may kindly approve and confirm the minutes of the 5 th meeting of Senate held on26 th May 2018 at NIT Mizoram, Aizawl.
	Decision taken: Approved and confirmed
SNT 6.3	To note the action taken on 5 th Senate meeting
e solution endered	On the basis of the resolution taken during the 5 th meeting of the Senate held on 26 th May 2018, the action taken by the Institute is placed at Annexure- I of SNT 6.3 .
	Decision taken: Noted
SNT 6.4	Formation of Civil Engineering Society
	Director desired that every department form the society having scope of activities for the students. Accordingly, CSE, ECE, EE and ME Departments have already formed the societies. Civil Engg. department submitted a proposal to set up a Civil Engg. Society "NIRMAAN". The detail is placed at Annexure- I of SNT 6.4 .
	Decision taken: Noted
SNT 6.5	MOU between NIT Mizoram and CSIR-CEERI Pilani, Rajasthan. A proposal was submitted by Dr. Chaitali Koley, AP (ECE) regarding the signing of MOU between NIT Mizoram and CSIR- Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute (CSIR-CEERI), Pilani. After vetted by a Legal Expert the MOU has been signed on

Minutes of the 6th Senate meeting

Achuran

Sut

Page 2

	 28th May 2018. The signed MOU sets down the mutually agree broad framework for joint research and academic activities i various fields of interest. It also incorporates the modalities for collaboration. Copy of MOU is placed at Annexure-I of SNT 6.5. Decision taken:
0.100 4 4	Noted
SNT 6.6	Request of Mr. Kundan Kumar (EEE department) for 2 nd Year M. Tech. Project at IIT Patna.
	This is to place before the Senate a request letter submitted by Mr Kundan Kumar, M.Tech. student (EEE department):
	• Permission to complete his 2 nd year M. Tech. project at II' Patna.
	• Further, he requested for the appointment of Dr. S. H Parida, Associate Professor, EE department IIT Patna, as co-supervisor for M.Tech. project. The applicatio submitted is placed at Annexure- I of SNT 6.6 .
	Decision taken:
	Approved on condition that the student submit a monthly progress report & attendance record duly forwarded by his co-supervise and present progress seminar six monthly.
SNT 6.7	Request of Ms. Tanima Bal (EEE department) for 2 nd Year M. Tech. Project at Jadavpur University Kolkata.
	This is to place before the Senate a request submitted by Ma Tanima Bal, M.Tech. student (EEE department), regardin permission to complete her 2 nd year M. Tech. project at Jadavpu University Kolkata, (on medical ground). The application wit supporting medical document is placed at Annexure- I of SN 6.7 .
	Decision taken: Approved as a special case on medical ground. However, she has to submit her monthly progress report & attendance record du forwarded by her co-supervisor and present progress seminar si monthly.

Minutes of the 6th Senate meeting

Albertar

forthe

Page 3

SNT 6.8	Proposal for ratification of the approval of the Chairman, Senate for award of Ph.D degree to Mr. Nitin Kumar.						
	This is to inform the Senate that the research scholar of the Department of BS&HSS – Mr. Nitin Kumar Enrollment No. DS14PH001, under the supervision of Dr. Alok Shukla AP(Physics) has completed his Ph.D defense on the 6 th June, 2018. His research title is "Development and Characterisation of Bismuth Ferrite Based Some Transition Metal Ilmenites for Multifuntional Device". Recommendation of the Oral Examination Board is placed at Annexure-I of SNT 6.8.						
	The Chairman, Senate has accorded approval for award of Ph.D degree to Mr. Nitin Kumar Enrollment No. DS14PH001, who is the first to be awarded Ph.D degree in the Institute. He may be conferred the degree in the 2 nd Convocation to be held on the 23 rd June, 2018.						
	The Senate may kindly ratify the approval of the Chairman, Senate.						
	Decision taken: Ratified. Senate congratulates his Ph.D Supervisor Dr. Alok Shukla.						
SNT 6.9	Approval of result of examination conducted by NIT Mizoram and award of Gold Medals.						
	B. Tech. (2014 batch) and M. Tech. (2016 batch): As per the academic calendar the End Semester examination was conducted and result was published. The branch wise summary of result for B.Tech. and M.Tech. programme is placed at Annexure-I of SNT 6.9 for its approval. The list of B.Tech & M.Tech gold medalist are:						
	Undergraduate Institute Gold Medal						
	ME	BT14ME002	Anjan Karmakar	9.66			
The second	B.Tech.						
	Branch	Enrolment No.	Name	CGPA			
	CSE	BT14CS002	Saurav Saha	9.60			
	EEE	BT14EE007	Gorrupotu Bhargav	8.10			
And the first Print	ECE	BT14EC008	Raju Kumar	8.17			
	ME	BT14ME002	Anjan Karmakar	9.66			
	CE	BT14CE014	Lokendra Prasad Sharma	8.38			

Minutes of the 6th Senate meeting

Asburgs

Page 4

the

		M	I.Tech.		2
	Branch	Enrolment No.	Name	CGPA	
	EEE	MT16EE002	Suraj Gupta	9.09	
	ECE	MT16EC004	Rajiv Ranjan Thakur	9.35	
	The represent regarding his However, as po the highest CG Arun Kumar h	tation submitt claim for Go er the B.Tech F PA should clea ne cleared the considered as	for further appro ed by Arun Kum old Medal was d Rules & Regulation r the exams in firs 8 th Semester in a first attempt/f	nar, student liscussed at ns students s st attempt. Ir the re-exan	of EE lengtl securin case o ninatio
SNT 6.10	Any other ma	tter with the n	ermission of the	chair	

Ashunder

(DR. ALOK SHUKLA) Faculty i/c Academics

Sente

(PROF. RAJAT GUPTA) Director & Chairman, Senate